Main Stage: Raging Speedhorn


The 12th International London Tattoo Convention 2016 are proud to present Raging Speedhorn the sludge metal band from Corby Northamptonshire, they will be performing on Friday night 23rd Sept.

Raging Speedhorn were formed by Frank Regan, Darren Thompson, Gordon Morison, Gareth Smith, & Tony and John Loughlin in 1998 in Corby, Northamptonshire, following the merging of the bands Soulcellar and Box. Fuelled by booze, anger & a shared love of downtuned brutality; the band quickly established itself as a major presence within the UK's metal scene & staples of the touring circuit. On early Raging Speedhorn recordings the music can be characterised by pounding basslines, heavily distorted riff-thick guitar work and subject content consisting generally (but not exclusively) of hedonism, drug-use, violence, antipathy for major band labels and depression.
Sporting two vocalists, a style largely inspired by the UK hardcore band Hard to Swallow, which featured Bloody Kev who would later join Raging Speedhorn as their second vocalist after the departure of Frank Regan in 2005. The band's first single, "Thumper", produced by industrial veteran, Marc Heal, was released in 2000 to significant critical acclaim. In 2001 the band succeeded in entering the UK Singles Chart at Number 50 with "The Gush".

In 2002, the band returned with their second album “We Will Be Dead Tomorrow”. The album was met with critical acclaim, and is to date, Speedhorn’s most successful record. It spawned two singles; “The Hate Song” & “F*** The Voodooman”, the videos for which received heavy rotation on Kerrang! TV & MTV 2. The album was produced by Biohazard mainman Billy Graziadei. Following its release, the band toured heavily around the world for the next two years, including spots on major festivals like Download Festival in 2003.

The band followed up “WWBDT” with the compilation album “Live and Demos” in 2004, which was made up of assorted live show recordings and demos of popular Speedhorn tracks like “Thumper” & “Mandan”. The band released their third studio album “How The Great Have Fallen” in 2005 through new label, Steamhammer, a subsidiary of SPV Records. Shortly after its release, Frank Regan left the band, and Speedhorn enlisted former Hard To Swallow frontman Bloody Kev to fill Frank’s spot. The band continued to tour heavily through 2005 & 2006, including a spot on the 2005 Download Festival & a US tour with Soilent Green, Nile, Hypocrisy & Decapitated.

The band released their fourth record, “Before The Sea Was Built” in September 2007 through SPV, which was producer by Hundred Reasons mainman Larry Hibbitt. The band’s activity slowed over the next few months, and on March 25th 2008, it was announced the band would split after a final tour of Japan.

The band later announced their reunion on February 18th 2014, confirming they’ll be appearing at Sonisphere Festival in July & Damnation Festival in November 2014 in the UK. Both John Loughlin and Frank Regan would feature on vocals, with the band showcasing tracks from their debut album & “WWBDT”. The band confirmed that former Charger guitarist Jim Palmer would be taking Gareth Smith’s place, due to Gareth relocating to Sweden several years earlier.

On July 3rd 2014, the band played a sold-out hometown show with support from The Darkhorse and Heart of a Coward as a warm-up prior to playing at Sonisphere two days later. On July 7th 2014, an eleven-date UK tour was announced. In March 2015 the band played as part of Hard Rock Hell in Wales, and later in the year played as part of Bloodstock Festival in Derby. They also completed two further tours, one as main support to Will Haven in May 2015 & a second headline tour in December 2015.

The band recently recorded their latest record with legendary producer Russ Russell, for a spring 2016 release.